We have the following awards that we give out at our annual conference. If you would like to nominate someone for the awards, please email the people listed below associated with that prize.

Julien Mezey Dissertation Award

The Association for the Study of Law, Culture and the Humanities invites submissions for the 2016 Julien Mezey Dissertation Award. This annual prize is awarded to the dissertation that most promises to enrich and advance interdisciplinary scholarship at the intersection of law, culture and the humanities.

The Association seeks the submission of outstanding work from a wide variety of perspectives, including but not limited to law and cultural studies, legal hermeneutics and rhetoric, law and literature, law and psychoanalysis, law and visual studies, legal history, legal theory and jurisprudence. Scholars completing humanities-oriented dissertations in SJD and related programs, as well as those earning PhDs, are encouraged to submit their work. Applicants eligible for the 2015 award must have defended their dissertations successfully between September 1, 2013 and August 31, 2015.

The deadline for nominations for the 2016 award is November 15, 2015. On or before that date, each nominee must submit the following:

1) a letter by the nominee detailing the genesis, goal, and contribution of the dissertation;
2) a letter of support from a faculty member familiar with the work;
3) an abstract, outline, and selected chapter of the dissertation;
4) contact information for the nominee.

All materials and any questions should be sent to:
Dr. Keally D McBride at kdmcbride@usfca.edu

Award finalists will be notified as soon as possible. Finalists must then submit an electronic version of the entire dissertation. The winner will be determined by early February and invited to the 2016 ASLCH annual meeting. ASLCH will pay travel and lodging costs.

Congratulations to the 2015 co-winners, Audrey Golden for her dissertation "Restorative Justice and the Global Imagination" completed at the University of Virginia (English), and Sarah Higinbotham for her dissertation "The Violence of the Law: Aesthetics of Justice in Early Modern England" from Georgia State University (English).

Previous Julien Mezey Dissertation Award Winners

The Austin Sarat Award

The Austin Sarat Award is a prize offered to a graduate student for an outstanding paper presented at the ASLCH annual conference. We are looking for papers that represent excellence in interdisciplinary thought, research and writing in the field of law, culture, and the humanities. Although presentation of the paper at the annual conference is required to be eligible, the award winner will be chosen based upon finished papers submitted after the annual conference.

Nominations are due in May, following the conference. If you are not sure that the paper was presented by a graduate student, email and we can check. Once we have received nominations, authors will be contacted for their papers. Please feel free to nominate your own paper!

Congratulations to the 2015 winner, K-Sue Park, for her paper on “Foreclosure and Dispossession.” In this paper, K-Sue challenges assumptions about the recent foreclosure crisis by tracing English mortgage and land policies from colonial history to current property laws in the USA. In 2015, K-Sue graduated from Harvard Law School and also earned her Ph.D. from the Department of Rhetoric at UC Berkeley. Her dissertation concerns historical processes of dispossession and displacement in America. She is a staff attorney and Equal Justice Works Fellow working in the areas of housing and consumer rights at Texas RioGrande Legal Aid in El Paso, TX.

Previous Austin Sarat Award Winners

James Boyd White Award

With this award we recognize and honor the originality and excellence of individual contributions to the field, and acknowledge our indebtedness to these individuals for their commitment to the interdisciplinary study of law, culture and the humanities.

Congratulations to the 2015 winner, Linda Ross Meyer. Linda is Professor of Law at Quinnipiac University, CT. A former clerk for Justice Sandra Day O'Connor at the United States Supreme Court, Linda has since widely published in the areas of criminal law and legal theory - including authoring "The Justice of Mercy" (University of Michigan Press, 2010) - and has greatly contributed to the prolific development of the ASLCH. For more on Linda's contributions to the field: http://www.quinnipiac.edu/academics/colleges-schools-and-departments/school-of-law/faculty/school-of-law-faculty/faculty-detail/?Person=1864

Previous James Boyd White Award Winners